General Announcement

The Committee of Presidents of Statistical Societies invites nominations for

  • Presidents’ Award;
  • Fisher Award and Lecture;
  • Scott Award and Lecture.

The deadline for nominations of all three awards is December 15, 2019.

The call for nominations can be found at

The Bernoulli Society for Mathematical Statistics and Probability welcomes nominations for the 2020 Wolfgang Doeblin Prize. 

The Wolfgang Doeblin Prize, which was founded in 2011 and is generously sponsored by Springeris awarded biannually to a single individual who is in the beginning of his or her mathematical career, for outstanding research in the field of probability theory.  The awardee will be invited to submit to the journal Probability Theory and Related Fields a paper for publication as the Wolfgang Doeblin Prize Article, and will also be invited to present the Doeblin Prize Lecture in the Bernoulli-IMS 10th World Congress in Probability and Statistics (to be held in Seoul National University, South Korea, on August 17-21, 2020), or at a later Conference on Stochastic Processes and their Applications.

More information about the Wolfgang Doeblin prize and past awardees can be viewed at

Each nomination should offer a brief but adequate case of support and should be sent by December 30, 2019, to the chair of the prize committee at the following e-mail address: This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. with subject heading: Doeblin Prize 2020. 

The Bernoulli Society welcomes applications to the New Researcher Award 2020. Each awardee shall deliver a talk at a special invited session during the Bernoulli-IMS 10th World Congress in Probability and Statistics 2020, and will receive a funding up to 1000€ to offset travel and other expenses. Bernoulli News will publish their pictures and a paragraph about their work.

Eligible candidates are active researchers in Probability Theory who obtained the PhD degree on or after Jan 1st 2014 and who are regular members of the Bernoulli Society. Female candidates get 1 extra year for each child born since receiving the PhD.

Candidates should apply through the web form and send the required documents to the e-mail address indicated there.

Deadline: April 10th, 2019

The New Researcher Award is for Bernoulli Society members who are active researchers of mathematical statistics. The main goal of this award is to recognize innovative research by new researchers.

The applicants for this award were asked to submit a 3-page synopsis of their presentation, along with their CV by February 28, 2018. The response to this award call was fabulous - 34 applications were submitted many of which were very strong applications making the selection procedure extremely challenging. After evaluating each CV and synopsis, the award committee has chosen the following new researchers for the award:

Po-Ling Loh, University of Wisconsin-Madison

Gongjun Xu, University of Michigan

Lingzhou Xue, Pennsylvania State University

Each of the awardees will deliver a 30-minute talk at the 62nd ISI-WSC to be held in Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia during August 18 - 23, 2019, and will receive funding from Bernoulli Society towards travel and other expenses.

Apart from the above awardees, Bernoulli Society is awarding honourable mentions to the following researchers:

Quentin Berthet, University of Cambridge

Sebastian Engelke, University of Geneva

Subhabrata Sen, Microsoft Research New England and Massachusetts Institute of Technology

Bernoulli Society would like to congratulate the above researchers and thank each and every applicant for their interest in the award.

Parthanil Roy, Bernoulli Youth Representative
Indian Statistical Institute, Bangalore, India

Leonardo T. Rolla, Membership Secretary
Argentinian National Research Council and NYU-Shanghai

2015 is the centennial of the birth of Kiyosi Itô. To celebrate this anniversary, the Mathematical Society of Japan (MSJ) and RIMS, Kyoto University have created the following special website:

This website contains open access to unpublished lecture notes by Kiyosi Itô, the collection of papers dedicated to Itô on his 80th birthday, and a list of Itô’s works and links to his papers. The website will also announce information about events related to the centennial.

Tadahisa Funaki (President of MSJ) and Takashi Kumagai (RIMS, Kyoto) on behalf of the committee for Itô’s centennial projects

The 37th Conference on Stochastic Processes and Their Applications will be held at Universidad De Buenos Aires from July 28 to August 1, 2014.

The publishing company Elsevier and the journal Stochastic Processes and Their Applications  - An Official Journal of the Bernoulli Society - sponsor the conference with four Elsevier Travel Grants worth 500 Euros each. The grants will be awarded to the following junior researchers:

  • Loren Coquille (Bonn)
  • Sandro Gallo (Rio de Janeiro)
  • Adriana Neumann de Oliveira (Porto Alegre) 
  • Marielle Simon (Lyon)

Takashi Kumagai, Kyoto

The LARC-SLAPEM organizes, every two/three years, a prize to honor the memory of Francisco Aranda-Ordaz, a distinguished young Mexican statistician who died tragically in 1991. Sponsored by the Bernoulli Society, the Francisco Aranda-Ordaz Award is bestowed for one thesis in Probability and one thesis in Statistics written by students from Latin America, regardless of the country of the university offering the degree, or by students from other nationalities who received the degree from a Latin American university. The winners are invited to present their works at the CLAPEM meeting.

Our web site was recently transferred and the backend system was updated. We apologise for any inconvenience. If you notice something that doesn't work as it used to, please contact This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

The special issue of the journal SPA on the occasion of the 2013 International Year of Statistics, edited by Rainer Dahlhaus, Jean Jacod, Per Mykland and Nakahiro Yoshida, can be downloaded free of charge from the SPA website: SPA special issue 2013 - free download.

Posted by Takashi Kumagai, Kyoto

Based on recent discussions the Bernoulli Society decided, with authorization from Elsevier, to publish details of the SPA Sponsorship Agreement.

© Bernoulli Society